2017 Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Fred Pfohl, Chair, Fred’s General Mercantile
Susan Poorman, Vice Chair, Appalachian State University
Amanda White, Treasurer, CommunityOne Bank
Jennie Stultz, Secretary, Former Mayor City of Gastonia
Nancy Reigel, Community Impact Chair, Community Volunteer
Tom Hughes, Past Chair, Watauga County DSS

Board Members:

Jennifer Greene, Appalachian District Health Department
Tim Baxter, Baxter Mountain Properties
Mary Boys, Community Volunteer
Johnny Carson, North Carolina Farm Bureau
Kate Gavenus, Beech Mtn. Director Tourism and Development
Dick Hearn, Community Volunteer
Joan Hearn, Community Volunteer
Ed Miller, New River Light and Power
Nancy Stroupe Morrison, Artist
Allen Moseley, Attorney
Dr. Scott Elliott, Watauga County Schools Superintendent
Barbara Jones, Avery DSS

Board Members Emeritus:

John Burbank, Community Volunteer
Jack James, Community Volunteer


Dr. Gary L. Childers, Executive Director
Susan Stuber, Office Manager

Help those in need in the high country.